Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I just had my complimentary 5K oil change at my Honda dealer. I had a discussion with the service manager about my plans to add a trailer hitch and do occasional weekend-warrior towing with a 4x8 trailer. Towing would rarely exceed 25 miles a few times per year.

The manager acted very cautious about towing when I said that "the most I would ever haul is 1000 pounds, usually less". He said that towing even 1000 pounds would put a strain on the CVT, and said that it should have an additional tranny cooler. I did not see on Honda's website that there is a factory option for transmission cooling for towing.

I am new to towing, and this is actually a smaller vehicle than I have had for many years. So I have not had to previously worry about abusing transmissions.

Is the CRV with a CVT an adequate tow vehicle? I thought I had done adequate research before buying, but now I am wondering if I bought too small. Why would Honda rate it for 1500 pounds with no warning about transmission cooling. Can't find anything in the owner's manual either.

Thanks, Tim

·
Registered
2,001 Posts
Sales scare!

I can’t really say much as I don't own a CRV with CVT

·
Registered
262 Posts
Rule #1 - Honda engineers know more about your vehicle than a dealer.

Apparently, Honda are confident that your CR-V will at least make it through the 60,000-mile powertrain warranty while towing up to 1,500 lbs. without having to replace the transmission. Otherwise, you'd see something like "towing not allowed" or "towing distance limited to xxx miles" or "maximum towing limit 1,000 lbs." or "towing not recommended without an additional cooler" or "maximum towing speed xx MPH".

·
Registered
132 Posts
I have no idea how the CVT functions.

Does it have a cooler on the radiator just like any ole other automatic trans? If so, then the cooler in the radiator is not big enough.