Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Honda and use an iPhone with Apple CarPlay. There is also HondaLink but even after reading the manual, it is unclear to me if HondaLink is in any way useful especially when using CarPlay.

I would like to hear your (2017 CR-V owners') opinion on HondaLink and which features are useful or shouldn't I not even bother with it?

·
Registered
730 Posts
As I understand Hondalink, it's great if you only want to listen to music and don't want to be bothered with pulling your phone out and plugging it into the car. When getting in your car, it will automatically re-establish the Bluetooth connection and start playing music where you left off when you left the car. It will also allow you to do hands-free calling, without the need to plug in. It's all about convenience.

I know Carplay Wireless is coming soon, so it will also be very convenient and furthermore make Hondalink more obsolete, but, for the time being there are some people that will only want or use the BT connection.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I use the BT part for phone most of the time. Usually when I'm in the car, I don't bother to plug my phone in. I have only used Car Play so far for the maps. That worked well for me.
I have not downloaded the Honda apps from the Apple AppStore because it's not clear to me they work with the 17s and the ratings are aweful.

·
Registered
11 Posts