Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to CVTs and was wondering if frequent shifting into the Sport mode is hard on the transmission.

I drive in hilly areas from time to time and could really use more engine braking. I observe that the RPM does rise on some downhills while in Drive, but not always and not as much as I'd like. Sport mode does the trick, but I worry about increasing wear on the transmission.

Do any of you have any technical, fact based info on whether shifting into sport mode inflicts harm (a little or alot) on the transmission, or is that fully within its design, and I can do it as much as I want? I'm hoping for factual, technical feedback on the CR-V's (or similar) CVT, rather than anecdotal speculation.

thanks!

Roy

·
Registered
2016 CRV Touring AWD
3,579 Posts
Safety matters more than wearing out parts. Some will say that brakes are cheaper but, if the hills warrant the extra braking that sports mode gives you don't hesitate to use it.

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
Based on my limited knowledge of the CVT, I don't think it hurts anything. I have a Burgman 650 Maxi-Scooter that has a Power button that does the same thing as the Sport selection of my CRV. I've used it for years for engine braking and acceleration on steep crooked mountain roads. The CVT in both of them are really ECVT (for electronic). The CVT uses pulleys and a belt to change speeds. The speed change is when the pulleys change sizes to change the gearing. The power pulley is small at takeoff and the other pulley is larger and as you go faster, the power pulley gets larger (the sides move closer together) and the other pulley gets smaller which makes the gear ratio get higher. The electronics in Sport mode tells the transmission to keep the power pulley smaller to keep the ratio lower.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)