Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm looking to put a 3000lb winch on the front of my '97. anybody done this before? not looking for self recovery (got my '73 bronco for 4 wheeling and it has an 8000lb winch), more for work. i'm a mobile mechanic so sometimes i need to move something, or pull on an axle, or something of that nature.

i'm thinking about welding a piece of 1.5" square across the front between the tow tabs, then welding a piece of flat plate sticking out to bolt the winch to.

anybody got other ideas or pics?

·
Registered
4,447 Posts
Actually, that idea you have sounds pretty good. You could also run a seperate frame rail and attach it somewhere in the back of the car, or you could have the winch mounted to the inside of the trunk, and have it operate when the door is open.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well i decided i didn't want it sticking way out the front all the time, so i made a plate for it to mount it in the rear receiver. i may make a front receiver eventually, but since it's primarily for work it'll do real nice. i ran a power cable to the front to the battery, then put a quick plug on it.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Hitch

Why not make it so winch will install in a two inch receiver hitch!! Is pretty easy then can take winch out and stow it away. Just a thought to ponder. We do this on atv's.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Oh no, did you mount it too high and open the rear door into it?
no, that damage was there when i got the car. :rolleyes: the door still opens fine, and it looks like it'll get it's first job next week or so. radius arm bushings on a '69 F-250, i'll use it to pull the I beams forward.

Why not make it so winch will install in a two inch receiver hitch!! Is pretty easy then can take winch out and stow it away. Just a thought to ponder. We do this on atv's.